Help DSA-LA Take Over ADEMS!

California should be leading the way in progressive politics, but we’re not — at least not within the California Democratic Party.

We’re going to fix that.

Every two years, California Democrats elect delegates from across the state, who then convene along with appointed party officials at the party’s Assembly District Election Meeting (ADEMS). ADEMS determines what the party stands for, making this a significant opportunity for socialists to push the California Democratic Party to the left and away from the interests of union busters, the landlord lobby, fossil fuel polluters, the corporate hospital and pharmaceutical lobby, the prison industrial complex, the corporate donor class, and others that stand against our values.

Our members are running for ADEMS delegate seats so that we’re in the room when the Democratic Party sets its agenda and makes decisions on endorsing candidates for public office. We’re fighting for issues that matter to the working class in California, like Medicare for All, Green New Deal, and Defunding the Police.

Participating in ADEMS delegate elections, as a candidate or as a voter, is open to all voters registered with the Democratic Party, and these elections happen at the Assembly District level. The deadlines have passed to declare your candidacy for an ADEMS delegate seat or request a ballot from the Democratic Party. Ballots are now being delivered via USPS to those who requested them by the January 11 deadline. Returned ballots must be postmarked by Wednesday, January 27 and received by Saturday, January 30.

Click here to check your voter registration and party affiliation status.

Click here to check which Assembly District you live in.

Click here for ADEMS ballot return instructions from the California Democratic Party.

The DSA members listed below (in alphabetical order by first name) are running for ADEMS delegate seats on slates across LA County and have pledged to fight for our democratically-decided socialist values. Are you a DSA member running for an ADEMS delegate seat? Click here to sign our pledge and be added to this page. Questions? Get in touch with us over email at

Assembly District 38
Ankur Patel
Sebastian Cazares
Shawnee Badger

Assembly District 39
Amy Sue Fall
Marlin Medrano
Michelle A Boley
Taline Krikorian Arsenian

Assembly District 41
Elizabeth Trejo
Ellen Dalbey Finkelpearl
John Doyle
Jordan Vannini
Joshua Ulises Marmol
Marguerite Renner
Mindy Pfeiffer
Patricia Hernandez
Robert M. Nelson
Ryan Bell
Savanna Salter
Stephanie Schoen
Steven Gibson
Susan Castagnetto

Assembly District 43
Analisa Swan
Armen D Gendjian
Brandon Rey Ramirez
Hugo Soto
Konstantine Anthony
Margo Rowder
Nikki Perez
Sean V Broadbent

Assembly District 45
Aveista Helmandi
Christopher Manabe
CJ Berina
Kayson Verne
Michelle Manire Fowle
Morgan Currier
Nishat Salsabil
Renay Grace Rodriguez
Yasmine Pomeroy

Assembly District 46
Jose Navarrete
Karen Hernandez
Nick Roth

Assembly District 48
Aaron Simental
Andreya Garcia-Ponce De Leon
Emanuel Gonzales
Janet Hurtado
Marisa Szeps
Michelle Parias
Osirus Polachart

Assembly District 49
Edson Quinteros
Gabriel Brossy de Dios
Katie H. Chan
Leslie Chang
Mario Luke Nieto
Samir Al-Alami

Assembly District 50
Aura Vasquez
Elizabeth Clark
Joshua Smith
Kyna Collins
Michael Barth
Mike Rose
Emilia M Barrosse

Assembly District 51
Abby Austin
Alexander Gruenenfelder Smith
Amanda Miguel Staples
Carolyn “Jiyoung” Park
Eric Pierce
Ezra Pugh
Hayley Coupon
Jeremy Gray
José Gama Vargas
Lauren Buisson
Philip Iglauer
Selene Betancourt
Victor Frias
Yolanda Nogueira

AD 53
Angie Brown
Carlos Estrada
David Kim
Ellary Allis
Johnny Echavarria
Juan Portillo
Kristina Wong
Lauren Batten
Lynn “Jeong” Stransky
Michael Daurio
Mike Dickerson
Sara Eastwood

Assembly District 54
Elizabeth Jansma Sharma
Greg Bartlett
Greg Gabrellas
Leah Pressman

Assembly District 57
Annabella Acosta
Christian Israelian
Christine Helen Salazar
Cindi Duran
Henry Huerta
Sarah Matlock
Stephanie Marie Terrazas

AD 62
Deana J Becker
Estefany Castaneda
M. Ahmanise Sanati

Assembly District 64
Brandon Molina Berrios
Carson Malbrough
Dinorah Hernandez
Eric DiMaggio
Fatima Iqbal-Zubair
Hernaldo (Ernie) Gutierrez
Joseph Luis Piñon
Karyssa Harris
Micah Silver
Tiffanie Noelle Smith

Assembly District 66
Adam Schwartz
Bill Reynolds
Brian Carolus
Jane Affonso
Katherine Venn
Nicolas Gardner-Serna
R.G. Wong
Timothy Beyer